2015 John Mather Nobel Scholars

In July 2015, fifteen summer interns at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center (GSFC) in Maryland were awarded John Mather Nobel Scholarships by The National Space Grant Foundation, Inc. The funding for the scholarships originated in a generous contribution from the John and Jane Mather Foundation for Science and the Arts which in turn was funded from the award of the 2006 Nobel Prize for Physics to Dr. Mather.

The award consists in the designation "John Mather Nobel Scholar," plus a $3000 scientific travel grant over a two year period.

The 2015 John Mather Nobel Scholars are:

Laiya Ackman - Columbia University

Alexander Anderson - University of Rochester

Lauren Chambers - Yale University

Madison Douglas - Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Andrea Hughes - Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Qiana Hunt - University of Alabama in Huntsville

Keenan Hunt-Stone - Howard University

Ethan Julius - Cornell University

Karin Lehnigk - College of William and Mary

Anastasia Newheart - St. Mary's College of Maryland

Rebecca Phillipson - Colorado State University

Rebecca Pontius - Clemson University

Sahadeo Ramjatan - University of Florida

Trevor Reed - University of Southern California

Emily Sobel - State University of New York at New Paltz